Benefit Concert

On Wednesday night I went to a benefit concert supporting an organization called Young Life that send teens to summer camp. There were three bands playing that night. And it ended up being a really great time!

I got to go out for dinner with one of my best friends. It was so great. I’ve been so busy with school and work and she’s been so busy with work that we haven’t had a chance to hang out in almost a month! It doesn’t help that she moved to the other end of the city either.

Ikea Ikea

We went to Ikea for dinner, Swedish meatballs are the best. And their garlic bread is amazing. It was so good to sit and have a heart to heart with someone who knows me so well. I’ve missed hanging out with her so much since school started up again. I miss just knowing I have a best friend out there.

Ikea

I need to start off by apologizing for the quality of these photos, I was sitting near the back and the background screen was not accommodating. But here we go anyways!

I Am The Mountain
^^We got to the concert about halfway through the first band’s set. They’re called I Am The Mountain. And they were really good. I originally wasn’t interested in listening to them but that changed very quickly. They were actually really great. They were the only band to have a female vocalist and it was different, when she harmonized, than all the other bands. They also had a trumpet player. I think it’s so cool when bands introduce different instruments into their music. It worked so well.

Walden Walden
^^The second band to play was a friend of mine’s. Their name is Walden. Check them out. I’ve seen them perform a couple of times and overtime I’m so impressed with their music. Their harmonies are absolutely magical, especially on their song Island. And they’re original songs. It’s some really good stuff.

Boreal Sons
^^The last band to play was a bit of a more well known band, Boreal Sons. I’d heard a lot about them but never actually listened to them. I’m so glad I got to hear them live. At one point, the guitarist started playing the guitar with a violin bow. Seriously. It was so interesting. The lead singers voice was amazing. So many times during their set my friend and I turned to each other with an expression of awe. I don’t even have a word to describe his voice, beyond amazing.

By the end of the night I was saying “goodbye country, hello indie rock”. The whole night was amazing, I really had my idea of music changed. I think I could really get into that genre of music. It’s so different than what I usually listen to. I’m really intrigued by Calgary’s music scene. I can’t wait to check it out some more – I’ll keep you updated!

Happy Friday!

One thought on “Benefit Concert

  1. I’ve heard so many people say positive things about Ikea’s cafeteria. I have never been to one, but I am going to have to make my way there one of these weekends. It’s always good to make time for friends and relax. Thanks for the introduction to some new music. Enjoy a restful weekend, Hannah 🙂

    Like

Leave a Reply

